30 Weeks!

It’s official. Even though the nurses and doctors have been calling Becket a 30-week-old, today is the actual 30-week marker! While the medical staff has told me to breathe a sigh of relief, my eyes are already set on our next big milestone: 32 weeks. I found a really great article that outlines the week-by-week developments in premature babies: click here.

I have a sneaking suspicion we may not make it much further though. As I type, I am sitting in a room in the Labor and Delivery ward, hooked up to a fetal heart rate monitor, a contraction monitor, and a blood pressure cuff. Don’t worry just yet! I am not actively laboring or delivering. Dr. R decided to move me to this end of the floor for closer monitoring after a bit of a scare yesterday.

Yesterday morning, I woke up with what seemed like a hangover headache. I thought my head hurt because I had slept very heavily (re: at all) for the first time during my hospital stay. But the longer I was awake, the worst the headache became. It peaked in the afternoon–I had to take some pain medication and lay with an ice pack on my eyes.

If I had been at home with this headache, I would have taken some Tylenol, gone to bed, and not thought anything of it. However, headaches can be a symptom of preeclampsia, an indication of possible brain swelling, so I’m glad Dr. R is taking it so seriously.

Still no definitive news. Still waiting on lab results. Still enduring sticks and pokes and jabs and squeezes, and that’s not counting the feisty Baby B, who has been super active the past couple days.

I’m beginning to read like a broken record, but I really can’t thank everyone enough for the wonderful words of encouragement and the constant prayers. We know prayer works and we know God is keeping us safe. We pray that whatever happens in the coming days and weeks only helps us the grow in Him and bring us closer together as a happy, healthy family.

One thought on “30 Weeks!

  1. Thanks for your updates!! I have had a hard time keeping everything straight from day to day. You are terrific! Beckett is so lucky to have such a great Mom!

Leave a Reply

