Mystery Solved!

The last of my crazy, rare labs came back today. And of course, this last test is the one that explains everything that’s been happening in my body for the past 20 days.

It’s called a Bile Acids test. Lovely, right? It measures the amount of the different chemicals produced by the liver. I’m not certain what a “normal” reading is, but Dr. B told me that my results showed bile acid amounts twice as high as they should be, which means my official diagnosis (finally) is Cholestasis of Pregnancy.

Last week Dr. B mentioned that she was really just waiting on this test to rule out Cholestasis because I wasn’t displaying the most common symptom of the condition—sever itching.

Over the weekend, I started feeling like I had fleas. I’ve been scratching my forearms, shins, and calves raw. I really thought that it might just be the power of suggestion, which I know I’m insanely susceptible to.

Nope. Cholestasis. And the itching is getting worse.

Dr. B called me in my hospital room as soon as the test came back and immediately started me on Actigall, a synthetic form of a bile acid naturally produced by the gall bladder. It’s typically used to treat gallstones, but has been effective for treating Cholestasis as well.

From what I’ve researched, Actigall usually take at least three days to have any affect, including subduing the itching. Dr. B sounded hopeful that if my body reacted well to the medication, I’d be able to continue my bed rest at home as long as I committed to coming in for lab work and fetal monitoring three times a week.

Because my phone conversation with Dr. B was over the phone and relatively brief, I still have several questions, like “How may this condition affect Beckett?” “Is early delivery still on the horizon?” “Will I be able to go back to work between now and the time I deliver?”

I’ll definitely update when I know more. But for now, I am saying prayers of thanksgiving because we finally know what we’re up against!

Also to come—picture from my baby shower! So much fun!

For now, dote over this picture from my ultrasound today. It’s the first face picture we’ve seen of Beckett since 19 weeks!

20121112-140223.jpg

3 thoughts on “Mystery Solved!

  1. Yay for a diagnosis and treatment!! LOVE the pic of Beckett – he is soooo stinkin cute! And is it me, or does his frowny little mouth look alot like Benjamin?? LOVE! Praying you will soon be home!

  2. What good news! Thank God!
    Something that might give you some relief is calendula cream. California Baby is a great brand. All natural, so shouldn’t affect your meds. ❤

Leave a Reply

